General Information
    • ISSN: 1793-8201 (Print), 2972-4511 (Online)
    • Abbreviated Title: Int. J. Comput. Theory Eng.
    • Frequency: Quarterly
    • DOI: 10.7763/IJCTE
    • Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Mehmet Sahinoglu
    • Associate Editor-in-Chief: Assoc. Prof. Alberto Arteta
    • Executive Editor: Ms. Mia Hu
    • Abstracting/Indexing: Scopus (Since 2022), INSPEC (IET), CNKI,  Google Scholar, EBSCO, etc.
    • E-mail:
    • Journal Metrics:

Prof. Mehmet Sahinoglu
Computer Science Department, Troy University, USA
I'm happy to take on the position of editor in chief of IJCTE. We encourage authors to submit papers concerning any branch of computer theory and engineering.

IJCTE 2009 Vol.1(2): 140-145 ISSN: 1793-8201
DOI: 10.7763/IJCTE.2009.V1.23

Performance Analysis of Wireless Local Area Networks

Muhammad Umair Naru, Umar Nauman and Khalid Hussain

Abstract—In an infrastructure based wireless network, access point (AP) is the central authority which controls all the registered nodes and relaying traffic in the network. Even though all traffic is routed through AP, the open nature of the underlying medium is prone to environmental factors, etc. which degrade the performance of the overall network. However, in a saturated case the AP becomes the bone of contention among nodes which can result in collisions, packet drops, etc. In this study, authors analyze the performance of 802.11 WLANs that utilizes the Distributed Coordination Function (DCF). A simulation study having contending stations within the transmission range of an AP in a saturated environment are considered, in view of varying data rates and packet sizes in an error free environment. Simulation results are presented and analyzed in the end.

Comsats Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad Rifah International University, Islamabad


Cite:Muhammad Umair Naru, Umar Nauman and Khalid Hussain, "Performance Analysis of Wireless Local Area Networks," International Journal of Computer Theory and Engineering vol. 1, no. 2, pp. 140-145, 2009.

Copyright © 2008-2023. International Association of Computer Science and Information Technology. All rights reserved.